Donald O. Hebb Distinguished Contribution Award

This award shall be made to an individual who, in the opinion of the selection committee, has made a significant contribution to the study of brain, behaviour, and cognitive science. The committee shall be composed of the three most recent past presidents of the Canadian Society for Brain, Behaviour, and Cognitive Science (BBCS), plus the three most recent recipients of the CSBBCS Vincent Di Lollo Early Career Award, and the committee shall be chaired by the least recent past president.

In making its selection the committee will consider the following three criteria:

  1. An individual whose research has been sustained and meritorious and has enhanced the knowledge base of brain, behaviour, and cognition,
  2. An individual whose training of students, postdoctoral fellows and colleagues has had a significant impact on brain, behaviour, and cognitive science, and
  3. An individual whose influence has been exerted through leadership as a theorist or spokesperson for the discipline.

Normally, the awardee shall have conducted a significant proportion of his/her research training or disciplinary work within Canada. The awardee is invited to give the Donald O. Hebb Distinguished Contribution address at the annual BBCS meeting of that year.

Donald O. Hebb

Donald Hebb (1904-1985) was, during his lifetime, an extraordinarily influential figure for the discipline of psychology. Read more about Hebb's Legacy, as written in CJEP by Raymond Klein.


The 2019 conference will be held between June 7th and 9th at the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario. Registration and abstract submissions will open in February. Please visit the 2019 meeting page.

Time to Renew

Please login below to renew or reactivate your membership for 2019.

Join the CSBBCS

Click here to go to the Registration Page now.