# Minutes of the 2008 Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Society for Brain, Behaviour and Cognitive Science

The Meeting was held on June 21 during the Annual Meeting of the Society at The University of Western Ontario, in London, ON. Doug Mewhort (President) chaired the meeting and Peter Graf (Secretary/Treasurer) was the recording secretary.

# 1. Approval of the Agenda

# 3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2007 Annual General Meeting

Doug noted that the minutes of the 2007 AGM were available on the BBCS Web site. He asked if there were any corrections. There were none and the minutes were approved as moved and seconded by Vince DiLollo and Colin MacLeod.

# 4. Report from the Executive

### A: Financial Report & Membership Statistics

Peter Graf presented the Financial Report, noting that CSBBCS continues to be in excellent financial health and that we continue to operate at a small annual surplus.

Peter reported that at its meeting on June 18 2008, the executive decided to purchase Guaranteed Investment Certificates/Term Deposits with \$70K (one for \$50K; the other for \$25K) from the current account of CSBBCS. The GICs are being held at HSBC, our banker for the current account.

Peter also reported that at its meeting on June 18 2008, the executive decided to make a one-time contribution of \$10K to EPS in support of the 2009 joint EPS-CSBBCS meeting to be held in York, UK.

Peter reminded the meeting that the financial statement provided at the meeting is an interim report of the society's financial health, a statement which includes neither a full accounting of the conference costs nor of the society's membership. In order to provide the society with a financial statement which includes the full cost of the annual meeting, the Executive decided in 2007 to use August 31 as the financial year end of the society.

Peter reported that as of June 15 2008 (the start of the conference), CSBBCS had 534 paid up members (261 full and 273 associate members).

Click here for Member Stats Report (as of August 31 2008)

Click here for Financial Report (as of August 31 2008)

#### B: Web

Peter provided an update on the society's web, explained that its development is on course and within budget. He described the Paypal option for paying membership fees and conference registration fees and noted that approximately 85% of all payments are being made via this option.

Peter noted that a significant number of members are still concerned about the Paypal option, and underscored once again the fact that Paypal payments do not

require having a Paypal account, that payments can be made by means of any of the major credit cards.

In time for the 2008 convention, the membership system was linked with the registration system, making it easier to ensure that conference registrants are paid up members of the society.

# C: NEW CSBBCS Logo

Doug discussed the need for a new logo for CSBBCS, the fact that CSBBCS does not hold a copyright on its current logo, and that a new logo could be featured on the masthead of CJEP, our journal. Following a brief discussion, he proposed the following motion: That CSBBCS allocate \$3500 for the development of a new logo. The motion was properly moved and carried. Doug will coordinate the design of a new logo with a professional designer.

# 4. Report from Committees

## A: Donald O. Hebb Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award

Alan Kingstone, Chair of the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, reported that there had been 2 nominations, 1 new and 1 from the previous 2 years. Ray Klein, Dalhousie University, was selected.

#### B: Donald O. Hebb Graduate Student Award

Jody Culham, Chair of the Hebb Student Awards Committee, reported that the procedure used this year was similar to that instituted last year.

For the spoken presentation, the award was won by Nigel Gopie (University of Waterloo), with Audrey Hager (Queen's University) as the runner-up. In the poster presentation category, the winner was Ed O'Neil (University of Western Ontario), with Diala Habib (Queen's University) as the runner-up.

## C: Richard Tees Distinguished Leadership Award

Doug Mewhort, Chair of the award explained that there were 2 nominations for the award this year. Mel Goodale, University of Western Ontario, was selected.

### 5. CIHR and NSERC Reports

Doug introduced VIPs in attendance at the AGM, representing CIHR (Nathalie Gendron), NSERC (Paule Boulanger) and the Grants and Scholarship Directorate (Mario Lamarca), and Andrew Woodsworth.

#### A: CIHR

Nathalie Gendron, CIHR Deputy Director, gave a presentation on behalf of CIHR. Highlights of the presentation were the appointment of a new president of CIHR and the new strategic directions of CIHR. For a pdf of the presentation, **click here**.

## B: NSERC

Presentation by Paule Boulanger, NSERC's Program Officer, Life Sciences Division, GSC 12, Andrew Woodsworth, Project Director for NSERC's GSC Restructuring Review, and Mario Lamarca, NSERC Grants and Scholarship Directorate. The

presentations addressed the implications of the federal budget, the most recent Discovery and RTI competition, an update on GSC 12 and its restructuring, as well as new scholarship options. For a pdf of the presentation, **click here**.

#### 6. Executive Committee Election Results and New Executive Committee

In an email call for nominations, Colin MacLeod was nominated for President-Elect, and there being no other nominations he was acclaimed to the position.

#### 2008 - 2009 Executive

President: Robert Sutherland, University of Lethbridge

Past President: Doug Mewhort, Queen's University
President-Elect: Colin MacLeod, University of Waterloo
Secretary-Treasurer: Peter Graf, University of British Columbia

Members-at-Large: Lisa Kalenchuk, University of Saskatewan (2006-2009)

William Hockley, Wilfrid Laurier University (2007 – 2010)

## 7. Report on the Conference

Steve Lupker has prepared the following report on the 2008 conference. For a pdf of the report, **click here**.

# 8. Future Annual Meetings

2009: Joint meeting with EPS at York (Aimee Suprenant)

2010: Dalhousie University (Ray Klein)

2011: Manitoba University (Tammy Ivanco)

2012: Queen's University (Hans Dringenberg)

These venues are in accord with the location formula of East-Central-West-Central for the annual conference. The Quebec-Atlantic boundaries and the Ontario-Manitoba border define the three regions.

#### 8. Other business

Doug Mewhort thanked Steve Lupker and all the others who helped organize the 2008 conference.

Rob Sutherland also thanks the conference organizers. On behalf of CSBBCS Rob also thanked Doug as outgoing President for all his efforts and contributions to CSBBCS.